Rainshadow Road : Lisa Kleypas New Book

Lucy Marinn is a glass artist living in mystical, beautiful, Friday Harbor, Washington. She is stunned and blindsided by the most bitter kind of betrayal: her fiancé Kevin has left her. His new lover is Lucy’s own sister. Lucy’s bitterness over being dumped is multiplied by the fact that she has constantly made the wrong choices in her romantic life. Facing the severe disapproval of Lucy’s parents, Kevin asks his friend Sam Nolan, a local vineyard owner on San Juan Island, to “romance” Lucy and hopefully loosen her up and get her over her anger. Complications ensue when Sam and Lucy begin to fall in love, Kevin has second thoughts, and Lucy discovers that the new relationship in her life began under false pretenses. Questions about love, loyalty, old patterns, mistakes, and new beginnings are explored as Lucy learns that some things in life—even after being broken—can be made into something new and beautiful – Book Description From Amazon

My Review :

I loved this book! Been waiting this book for so long and when I read it : totally worth waiting for. I’m avid reader of Lisa Kleypas and this book is top three must have read list. 4.5 stars – due to not enough pages of the H/h, only 1/2 through the end.

Wonderful storyline, amazing characters, and beautifully written. My first impression of the magic twist kind of putting me down. But after the bird and window scene I started realize the link chain.

The Hero, Sam, was wonderful and complex character.\ His transformation and progression a lil bit heart wrenching. But his stubbornness and stupidity made me want to hit those thick skull. When Sam finally couldn’t longer deny the love he felt for Lucy, he was free from his own prisoner. How the mighty fall.

“It is about sex…sex with your mind, sex with your soul, sex with the color of your eyes, the smell of your skin. I want to sleep in your bed. I want to be the first thing I see every morning and the last thing I see at night. I love you the way I never thought I could love anyone.” (Sam)

The Heroine, Lucy, was adorable, very loveable, and she’s pull me in instantly. Her reaction and the way she handle the problem was very real and touching. Another thing I loved bout this character was her profession, a glass artist, very unique occupation, bring a reader interesting imagery.

My fave line was their “I don’t love you” dialogue. It started as a funny thing and in the end it was become their own white lies.

The ending was just perfect. Can’t wait for the next book.

“No matter what were together. A binary star can have a distant orbit but it’s still held together by gravity.”

Leave a Reply

