Friday’s Recommendation #3

Welcome to another Friday’s Recommendation – Ren’s Little Corner. It only took me few second to decide what book should I recommend. For this past week I’ve been engrossed with this particular series : Rock Chick by Kristen Ashley. I’ve known her works for a few months, and some GR group I followed mentioned her books a lot (with high recommendation). So I tried to put my finger on, and I declared :  I am a FAN.

Rock Chick (Rock Chick #1)

Genre : Contemporary Romance/Romantic Suspense

Indy Savage, cop’s daughter, rock chick and used bookstore owner, has been in love with Lee Nightingale, once bad boy, now the man behind Nightingale Investigations, since she was five years old. No matter what ingenious schemes Indy used to capture his attention, Lee never showed an interest and Indy finally gave up. Now Indy’s employee, Rosie, has lost a bag of diamonds and bad guys are shooting at him. When Indy gets involved, Lee is forced to help. Complicating matters, Lee has decided he’s interested, Indy’s decided she’s not. But she can’t seem to keep Lee out of her life when she’s repeatedly stun gunned, kidnapped and there are car bombs exploding (not to mention she’s finding dead bodies).

Indy’s best bet is to solve the mystery of the diamonds before Lee. Lee’s challenge is to keep Indy alive and, at the same time, win back her heart

This is my ultimate romance book. It’s all about relationship between the hero and the heroine. It’s about the badass alpha man fall hard to their women and try hard to build the real thing. It’s mixed with good portion of suspense. It’s all about romance.  Gah, I was totally, instantly and irreversibly falling in love with the series and all the character.

Meet India Savage a.k.a Indy, a sassy, stubborn, independent and smart ass heroine. She is also funny and like the title – rock n’ roll. You might love her or you might get irritated by her. There was some TSTL moment where she denied her feeling.  Sometimes she was bitchy. But I adore her all the same.

And you’ll meet our Hero, Liam Nightingale – Lee – the most badass sexy man, possessive beyond words, protective alpha man, and I-own-you attitude. You will definitely love him. He is holly molly yummilicious.

Some people might like this book or hate this book. I would said Kristen Ashley was a great story teller, but I wouldn’t called her superb writer. There’s some bad editing , weird sentences, and you might not like her first person POV. It’s written like we heard the heroine told us her story. A lot of repetitive words and phrase (A LOT). But, read it with your heart, and you would love it.

Yes, there was suspense. But it wasn’t dark nor scary. It was hilarious and there were some LOL moments. Overall it was a nice, lighthearted, sweet and entertaining story.

“There’s nothin’ better in the world than hearing you say my name when I’m inside you.” He slid in deeper, filling me. “I’ve been waiting years to be right here.”

One thought on “Friday’s Recommendation #3

  1. Pingback: You’re Still The One : Lee & Indy’s Song « My Romancelandia

Leave a Reply

