Breathe by Kristen Ashley : Left Me Breathless

Breathe (Colorado Mountain #4)

Genre : Contemporary Romance,Erotica Romance, Romantic Suspense

In order to protect a father he does not respect, in Lady Luck, we learned that good cop Chace Keaton went bad, sacrificing his career and his future. But when the local police department’s secrets are revealed and the wife he’s forced to marry is murdered, Chace finds himself the town of Carnal’s hero. Knowing how deep in the mud he was forced to sink, Chace feels he’ll never get clean. The quiet, content future he envisioned of the love a good woman with whom he could build a family was now beyond his reach. The only thing he can do is find his wife’s murderer.

But he isn’t the only one looking.

While searching for new leads, he runs into Faye Goodknight, the town’s quiet, shy, pretty librarian. Chace has long since had his eye on what could possibly be the town’s last remaining virgin but he has also long since given up hope he could make her his. Faye is pure and clean and Chace refuses to dirty her with his sordid past.

Pure and clean Faye may be, but when the shy librarian is forced to go head to head with the man who she’s had a crush on since he hit her hometown, Chace finds Faye is full of surprises. And he doesn’t know what to do with her

“Just so you know, I’m angry, but still, if i found you were an unknown model of Cylon, i wouldn’t kill you because you’re my Mom. But i would find you a habitable planet and dump you there. I’m also angry enough to dump Gaius there with you. He’s brilliant but he’s annoyingly arrogant, smug, a total jerk, completely self-serving and unpredictable. You’d hate him. So that tells you just how angry i am at you for not letting me speak my mind to Dad. Enjoy church and i’ll see you next Saturday.”

Breathless. Yes, that is how freaking great this book made me. Awesome. Amazing. Wonderful. Magnificent. Brilliant. Poignant. Incredible.  Romantic. Simply Perfect.

Faye Goodknight. A librarian with 13 years crush for local police hero Chace Keaton. Faye – a perfect name for geek, shy, dreamy, and emphatic woman. I love her character. The geek part was a brilliant thing to added into her character traits. It was hilarious when Faye started her ranting about geeky thing. A loveable heroine.

Chace. Oh my Goodness. He is my hero.  Uber alpha hero but thankfully his rudeness scale wasn’t as bad as Ty or Tate. Yes, in the first few pages he liberally hurting Faye. But, never even once I dislike him (which was happened a lot with Ty and Tate).  He got strong sense of duty and responsibility. Though he deserved felt a huge anger and resentment he never lost his tenderness and gentleness side. With a lot of demon and burden in her shoulder he was capable of loving someone deeply. And it made him absolutely beautiful. I love love love love love Chace.

The best heroes inspire loyalty. The best heroes keep fighting the good fight, tirelessly, quietly. The best heroes always have scars. If they didn’t, the heroine would have nothing to do. It’s her job to help the hero let all that stuff go in order that her man can be strong enough to fight on but when he’s with her he’s free to just breathe.”

The romance between Chace and Faye was off the chart. It was beautiful, sweet, heart-melting, and absolutely hot. Scene after scene were swoon-licious. Every bit of dialogue expressed how deep the feeling between them. Angel, it was how Chace called Faye. An angel who touched his helluva world. A light in the darkness he was living. Watching them was…. gah I lost words to describe.  Speechless.

Near the end Kristen Ashley gave us heart wrenching and tear-jerking scene. I read it with chills in my skin and tears in my eyes. And it was amazing twist. Wow, seriously horrifying. But ended wonderfully.

The epilogue. Like usual KA gave us a long and beautiful ending. Satisfied yet dissatisfied. I wanted them never end. It was a long story yet I felt it was too short. Kristen Ashley, I bowed to you.

“It was this song. It was Ella Mae singing this to me when I thought you weren’t all I knew you to be, which is all the words to this song. Twenty-nine years, I held out for this. Then, half an hour later, you proved every one of these words true and every moment since then, you kept doing it. I’ll take you thinking I’m your angel but you need to know you’re my hero. Twenty-nine, honey, I held out for this. Twenty-nine years, I held out for you.”

<<I need a hero; I’m holding out for a hero till the end of the night. He’s gotta be strong, he’s gotta be fast,and he’s got to be fresh from the fight. I need a hero, I’m holding out for a hero till the morning light, he’s gotta be sure, and its gotta be soon, and he’s gotta be larger than life.>>

 

3 thoughts on “Breathe by Kristen Ashley : Left Me Breathless

  1. Pingback: Friday’s Recommendation #6 « My Romancelandia

  2. Pingback: Thursday I’m In Love #2 « My Romancelandia

  3. Pingback: The Most of 2012 « My Romancelandia

Leave a Reply

