Close Enough To Touch – Victoria Dahl

Close Enough to Touch

For makeup artist Grace Barrett, Hollywood isn’t the land of golden opportunity. It’s the land of difficult divas, cheating boyfriends and unemployment. So when her great-aunt offers her a free place to stay in Jackson Hole, Grace thinks she’ll spend a little time in the sticks to figure out her life, and then move somewhere exciting to live out her dreams. But it turns out that there are a few more thrills in this small town than Grace was expecting….Cole Rawlins is a rugged Wyoming cowboy born and bred. Yet he can’t help but be drawn to the fascinating big-city girl who moves in across from him. He wants to get close enough to Grace to see past her tough facade, but if he does, she might see the real Cole. The one with a Hollywood history gone bad. As they discover a sizzling attraction, it becomes harder for him to keep his demons at bay—and those fires from long ago may burn them both.

They’ll need more than scorching-hot passion to make this opposites-attract affair work. But if they can learn to trust one another enough to reveal their secrets, they just might have a chance at forever.

Review :

 The first few chapters quite interesting, but somehow I got stuck and put this one for a while. I make myself finished it reluctantly, and I must said I didn’t particularly love this book.  This story so much darker than any of Dahl’s works and little bit off the road of romance. I didn’t felt the love, the process of how they’re falling in love with each other. Yes, there’s lots of lust and passion, but I didn’t think they cared for each other for real.

Let’s talk about the characters. Wow, the characters were dysfunctional. Grace, the heroine, had a lot of baggage, hard childhood, being runaway, and being kick by her ex-boyfriend (who charged her as a thief – gosh- what a life she had). She made herself being though and harsh, there’s also so much pain and insecurity inside her. How about the hero? Well, I didn’t love him for sure. He also had lots of insecurity. His regretful decision in the past, his injury, and prejudice made him act like a jerk more than few times. We also met Grace’s aunt – Raylen – a bitter old woman. A lonely lady with rude attitude and sharp tongue. And there’s also another characters which in my opinion slightly had baggage of their own.

When I read the book description I was hoping as the story take place in small town, I would encounter the quirky but nice and warm also happy people. But I kid you not, yes there’s nice and warm, but I wouldn’t said happy. Well, I enjoyed the book, but I didn’t love it.

2..5 stars/5 stars

*This ebook courtesy of netgalley for honest review*

Leave a Reply

