The Angel (The Original Sinners #2)

The Angel (The Original Sinners, #2)

The Angel (The Original Sinners #2)

By : Tiffany Reisz

No safe word can protect the heart
Infamous erotica author and accomplished dominatrix Nora Sutherlin is doing something utterly out of character: hiding. While her longtime lover, Søren—whose fetishes, if exposed, would be his ruin—is under scrutiny pending a major promotion, Nora’s lying low and away from temptation in the lap of luxury.

Her host, the wealthy and uninhibited Griffin Fiske, is thrilled to have Nora stay at his country estate, especially once he meets her traveling companion. Young, inexperienced and angelically beautiful, Michael has become Nora’s protégé, and this summer with Griffin is going to be his training, where the hazing never ends.

But while her flesh is willing, Nora’s mind is wandering. To thoughts of Søren, her master, under investigation by a journalist with an ax to grind. And to another man from Nora’s past, whose hold on her is less bruising, but whose secrets are no less painful. It’s a summer that will prove the old adage: love hurts

4.5stars/5 stars

Holly molly…  The sequel of The Siren is AWESOME. How on earth Reisz could made such intriguing and controversial characters become such captivating one even loveable????? Geez, she is such talented one. I bowed to you Tiffany Reisz.

The storty continued one year after The Siren. Nora and Søren back together, but there’s always problem behind. Someone steal Nora’s file from Kingsley, a reporter investigates Søren for sex abuse, and his name voted for the next bishop. Søren sent Nora and Michael (yup, Søren’s gift for their anniversary – read The Siren fellas) to friend estate, Griffin, for safety reason and also to trained Michael as submissive. In this book we learn who is Søren. His family and tortured past (his childhood definitely HELL). The story focused on Michael (that’s why the title is The Angel – Nora’s pet name for him), her relationship with his family, his abusive father, his detached mother, his training with Nora, and most important thing his relationship with Griffin. Half the story is about Søren and the beautiful reporter, Suzzanne, a lapsed catholic whose her brother suicide toward sexual abuse clouded her judgement on the investigation. There’s also story about Wesley and Nora, how they couldn’t forget each other, and how the pain they felt of their break-up.

I schock myself for loving Søren. Yup. I love his character. WOW. A priest and sadist, inflicted pain to his love one. Beating her and cut her (seriously – the pages where knife involved in their scene were horrifying). I questioned my sanity for liking his character. Reisz made Søren characters the real human being, a man, with flaws (geez, what a flaw) but also I couldn’t help but admire him. I felt his strength, his love, his kindness, his fear. A gorgeous man with tortured past and calling as a priest while in his private life he is the most terrifying Dom. What a combination.

Nora, I still loved her. But I want more of her. I want to know her. I felt I know Søren better than Nora. I want the real Nora. For me Nora is still a puzzle, unfinished one, complicated one. Such a wild and free character even me as reader couldn’t captured her. In this book, we could see more clearly of Nora’s love for Wesley. How deeply in love Nora with him, almost as deeply as her love for Søren.

Michael and Griffin story much sweeter than I expected. I’m not a reader of M/M romance, never read M/M novel except it was menage story, yet I love how Reisz described their relationship. It was beautiful and very satisfying. I love how Michael grow and man up, in the beginning he was a quiet, and shy teenager. But in the end, he could defend himself in front of his father, and shout of his love for Griffin.

The end scene was expected but unexpected (huh?), I knew in some point Søren will push Nora toward Wesley, because clearly she wasn’t finished with her feeling, and though she’s back with Søren, but half of her still with Wesley. Still, I felt heartbreaking for Søren, thorough the stories I finally understand how deeply his love for Nora (in his weird and disturbing way), and I amaze myself for feeling that Nora betrayed Søren. I hurt for Søren because Nora couldn’t felt complete with him alone.

The Angel is (again) an amazing book, brilliant love story and more than just erotica romance. Can’t wait for the third book : The Prince.

*The book courtesy of netgalley for honest review

2 thoughts on “The Angel (The Original Sinners #2)

  1. Pingback: Teaser Tuesday #6 « My Romancelandia

  2. Pingback: The Most of 2012 « My Romancelandia

Leave a Reply

