Wounded by Jasinda Wilder

16185789

War has taken everything from me. My family. My home. My innocence. In a country blasted by war and wracked by economic hardship, a young orphan girl like me has very few options when it comes to survival. Thus, I do what I must to live, to eat, and I try very hard to not consider the cost to my soul. My heart is empty, and my existence brutal.

The one impossibility in my life is love.

And then I meet HIM.

War is hell. It takes a chunk out of a man’s very soul to do the kinds of things war demands of you. You live with fear, you live with guilt, and you live with nightmares. If you haven’t been through it, there’s no understanding it. War leaves no room for love, no room for tenderness or softness. You gotta be hard, closed off, and ready to fight every moment of every day. Lose focus for a split second, and you’re dead.

Now the only thing that can save me is HER

Review :

3.5 stars / 5 stars

The premise was brilliant. It was unique, a heartbreaking story of Iraqi orphan girl who turn into prostitute in order to survive in the middle of war and the wounded American soldier. The two were from completely different world and culture,  the opposite side of the war for that matter, and even couldn’t communicate due to language barrier. Yet they weer fall in love

Did I mention heartbreaking? Geez, the way Ms. Wilder described the heroine ordeal made me in tears. How the war destroy her life, killed her parents, steal her younger brother and put her in a fate no girl had to endured. She force to sold her body just to get a piece a bread (so to speak) – to survive in the hell she was live in. Her first time was almost a rape but when months after she succumb into starvation again and decide to go after that man – that twist of incident sealed her fate, a prostitute she become. Rania, the girl she used to be was dead to the world and Sabbah take her place.

Men are pigs. I am not a woman, I am a thing. An object, a servant for their needs. Sex is a tool.

Years later when war happen again in Iraq, Rania saved a wounded American soldier. She take him to ease her guilt for another soldier she killed when she was a child (though it was unintentional at the time).  The soldier, Hunter was also an orphan – without no one wait for him at home, no parent, no relatives, not even lover. And their story begun.

Let’s talk about the story. Did it was believable for me? Honestly, it wasn’t. I felt of the grid with how the story evolve. I know romance was supposedly just fantasy, but please put reality check. I didn’t talk about the relationship itself, but more about the background story, plot, storyline, and simple basic facts. Okay, must admit the first chapter hooked me – that part was as real as I could feel. But when Raina starting her profession it was just looking totally like I was purely in romancelandia.  I wanted some real life facts. I need some dose of plausibility.

What made me gave 3.5 stars? Simply the romance. Yes it was beautiful to watch the relationship between Rania and Hunter. Kudos for Ms.Wilder in romance department. Their feeling was bare to the reader to look at – and it was awfully wonderful when Rania taste her first happiness.

He fills me. My heart, my soul. He fills the horrible emptiness that has gaped inside me all my life. The moment that he slid into me, I knew. It has just taken me this long to understand the strange feeling flowing in my veins in place of blood:  Happiness.

Overall it was a great read. A heart wrenching story of a woman who found love in the arms of wounded man.

One thought on “Wounded by Jasinda Wilder

  1. Pingback: Wounded ~ Blog Tour and $100 Giveaway! | fuonlyknew

Leave a Reply

